笙是中國最古老的樂器之一。是一種葫蘆型無簧樂器。它由一束管子(17到36根)組成,這些管子安裝在一個小風箱上。管子的根部是一個自由的黃銅簧片。在竹管中回響的尖利音色使音色更加清晰。笙可以演奏和弦,可以通過呼出和吸氣來演奏。
笙有不同的大小和音域。在中國的管弦樂編曲中,“笙”相對西樂中的銅管樂,對中樂的這一部分有一定的補充作用。
傳統的笙是需要靠雙手協助嘴部吹奏。鍵笙采用鍵控系統,可演奏出半音音階。現代的笙可以利用金屬反射筒來放大音量。現代的笙通常比傳統的笙更大,並且比傳統的笙有更多的管/音符。
笙被認為是許多西方無簧片樂器的始祖,如手風琴、口琴和管風琴。
笙在奈良時期傳入日本。日本的笙,叫sho,它有17根管子,和傳統的17管笙非常相似。值得註意的是,這段時間後,sho幾乎沒有什麽變化,它可能更接近古代的笙,而不是現代的傳統笙。
笙也傳至韓國,叫做Saenghwang,和笙極為相像但有不同的音調。

 

傳統/國樂 笙

傳統笙最初大約17支管組成,其中只有13或14支管安裝了簧片。其他則是用來保持審美的平衡。國樂音樂傳入後,笙被擴展到17 ~ 21支,都安裝了簧片。
近年來,傳統笙發展到可包含更多的音符並在特定音符上加裝按鍵。
笙需要演奏者舉到嘴邊演奏。指孔作為每個管道/音符的閥門。當孔被蓋住,空氣吸入或呼出時,簧片就會振動,並產生音高。
由於這些指孔,傳統的笙有一些特殊技巧是鍵笙所沒有的。舉個例子,當需要演奏推音時——它要求演奏者完全按住指孔並移開一半使指孔半封閉。這些技巧以及無法完全演奏半音階的屬性導致傳統的笙主要用於獨奏和協奏曲中。

 

 

鍵笙

1950年代,由於國樂運動的推行,鍵笙也隨之誕生了。這個運動推進了樂器能夠更具備完整的音階、笙管和完整的鍵鈕系統。鍵笙可以吹奏出半音階,這意味著它不僅僅可以演奏傳統的民歌。它寬廣的音域,柔和的音色可以演奏出各種曲風,有如一整個樂團。
鍵笙也有很多種類,有些有和西方長笛、薩克斯一樣的按鍵,有些甚至按有鍵盤。鍵盤笙也被稱作排笙。

Sheng

The sheng is one of the oldest species of Chinese instruments. It is a gourd type free reed instrument. It consists of a bundle (17 to 36) of pipes seated on a small wind chamber. At the root of the pipe is a free brass reed. The reedy tone with its resonance in the bamboo pipe gives great clarity of tone. The sheng is capable of playing chords and can be played by both exhaling and inhaling.

Shengs come in different sizes and ranges. The consort of sheng somewhat compensates for the absence of brass instruments in Chinese orchestration.
Traditional shengs are played help up to the mouth by both hands. Keyed shengs utilize keyed systems and are chromatic. Modern shengs may utilize metal pipes to amplify the sound. Modern shengs are also typically larger than their traditional counterparts, and contain more pipes/notes.

The sheng is considered the mother of many western free reed instruments such as the accordion, harmonica, and pipe organ.

The sheng was introduced into Japan during the Nara period. The Japanese sheng, called sho, contains 17 pipes and is quite similar to traditional 17 piped shengs today. Remarkably, the sho has seen very little change after all this time and is likely closer to ancient shengs than modern traditional shengs are today.
The sheng was also introduced to Korea as the saenghwang and is almost identical to the sheng, but with different tuning.

 

Traditional Sheng

Traditional shengs originally had around 17 pipes of which only 13 or 14 where actually fitted with reeds. The others were to maintain aesthetic balance. After the introduction of guoyue music, the sheng was expanded to 17 to 21 pipes all of which had reeds.
In recent years, traditional shengs have been expanded to include more notes and keyed mechanisms for certain notes.
The sheng is lifted up to the mouth to play. A finger hole serves as the activating mechanism for each pipe/note. When the hole is covered and air inhaled or exhaled, the reed would vibrate and a pitch would be produced.
Because of the finger holes, the traditional sheng is capable of techniques that keyed shengs are not capable of. An example of which is bending a note – which requires the player to go from a fully cover hole to a semi-covered hole. This fact and the lack of chromatic ability resulted in the traditional sheng being mainly used for solos and concertos.

 

 

Keyed Sheng

The keyed sheng came about around the 1950s as a result of the guoyue movement. The movement introduced more notes/pipes as well as a fully keyed mechanism. The instrument is chromatic meaning it can play more than just the traditional folk songs that were previously played. The wider range and chromatic notes lends means the keyed sheng feels more at home within the orchestra.
Different types of keyed sheng exist. Some use keys not dissimilar to those found on a western flute or saxophone, others use buttons, and some may even you a keyboard. Keyboard shengs are also known as pai shengs.